The Editoral Board meets once a year, in conjunction with the annual business meeting of the Society for the Study of Early Modern Women, held at the Sixteenth Century Studies Conference.


Mary Lindemann, Mihoko Suzuki, and Anne J. Cruz

Anne Cruz, Professor of Spanish, Department of Modern Languages and Literatures, University of Miami

Mary Lindemann, Professor of History, University of Miami

Mihoko Suzuki, Director, Center for the Humanities; Professor of English, 
University of Miami

Editorial Assistant:

Diana Dabek

Editorial Board:

Julie Campbell, English, Eastern Illinois University
Jane Couchman, French, York University
Merry Wiesner-Hanks, History, University of Wisconsin Milwaukee
Megan Matchinske, English and Comparative Literature, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
Katherine Park, History of Science, Harvard University
Allyson Poska, History, University of Mary Washington
Diana Robin, Foreign Languages and Literatures, University of New Mexico
Lyndal Roper, History, Baliol College
Stefanie Siegmund, Jewish Studies, Jewish Theological Seminary
Abby Zanger, History, Cambridge, MA
Jane Donawerth, English, University of Maryland
Adele Seeff, English, University of Maryland
Diane Wolfthal, Art History, Rice University 

The Board of Advisors is responsible for reviewing guidelines for acceptance of essays, reviewing essays and notes, and offering general advice. Reviewers are encouraged to offer supportive commentary rather than dismissive criticism for all submissions. Essays are reviewed anonymously.

The Board of Advisors also provides reviewers and nominations for reviewers for specific submissions.

The Board of Advisors unites elected representatives from the Society for the Study of Early Modern Women and the Planning Committee for the Attending to Early Modern Women symposia series. The Board of Advisors consists of:

  • Susan Dwyer Amussen, English and European History, University of California, Merced
  • Julia Marciari Alexander, Art History, San Diego Museum of Art
  • Judith MacKenzie Bennett, History, University of Southern California
  • Elizabeth Cohen, History, York University
  • Richard Chapman, Graphic Arts, University of Maryland
  • Albrecht Classen, German, University of Arizona
  • Susan Dinan, French and European History, Long Island University
  • Valeria Finucci, Italian Studies, Duke University
  • Amy Froide, History, University of Maryland Baltimore County
  • Mary Garrard, Emerita, Art History, The American University
  • Monica Green, History, Arizona State University
  • Margaret Hannay, English Literature, Siena College
  • Joan Hartman, Emerita, English Literature, College of Staten Island, CUNY
  • Wendy Heller, Music, Princeton University
  • Ann Rosalind Jones, Comparative Literature, Smith College
  • Cynthia Kosso, Classics, Northern Arizona University
  • Mary Ellen Lamb, English, Southern Illinois University
  • Elizabeth Lehfeldt, History, Cleveland State University
  • Amy Leonard, History, Georgetown University
  • Carole Levin, History, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
  • Margaret Mikesell, English, John Jay College, CUNY
  • Naomi Miller, English Literature, Smith College
  • Ian Moulton, English, Arizona State Univerisity, Polytechnic
  • Lena Cowen Orlin, English, Georgetown University
  • Mary Elizabeth Perry, History, Occidental College
  • Anne Lake Prescott, French Literature, Barnard College, Columbia University
  • Phyllis Rackin, English, University of Pennsylvania
  • Magdalena Sánchez, Spanish History, Gettysburg College
  • Hilda L. Smith, English History, University of Cincinnati
  • Sara Jayne Steen, English, Plymouth State University
  • Betty S. Travitsky, English Literature, Center for the Study of Women and Society, Graduate Center, CUNY
  • Juliann Vitullo, Italian, Arizona State University
  • Naomi Yavneh, Humanities, University of South Florida